Reproductive System


The reproductive system is a collection of organs and tissues that work together to produce offspring.

The male reproductive system includes the testes, epididymis, vas deferens, seminal vesicles, prostate gland, and penis.

The testes produce sperm, which travel through the epididymis and vas deferens to be ejaculated through the penis. The seminal vesicles and prostate gland produce fluids that nourish and protect the sperm.

The female reproductive system includes the ovaries, fallopian tubes, uterus, vagina, vulva, and mammary glands. The ovaries produce eggs, which travel through the fallopian tubes to the uterus.

The uterus is where a fetus develops and grows until birth. The vagina is the canal through which a baby is born. The vulva includes the external genitalia and the opening to the vagina. The mammary glands produce milk for nursing infants.

Puberty is the stage of life when the reproductive system becomes functional. It typically begins around age 10 for girls and age 12 for boys.

During puberty, the gonads (ovaries or testes) produce sex hormones that cause the physical changes of puberty, such as the growth of sexual organs and secondary sex characteristics.

The reproductive system allows humans to reproduce and continue the species. It is controlled by hormones that are produced by the brain and the ovaries or testes.

These hormones work together to regulate the reproductive cycle, which includes puberty, ovulation, fertilization, and childbirth.

Reproductive System Topics